Propranolol - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-10-2012, 03:25 PM Thread Starter
Bipolar maniac

Propranolol

Hi guys!
Since yesterday, I self prescribed myself propranolol (here it's very cheap, 3 dollars for 50 40 mg tablets, and practically OTC). I know about self medication, but I'm a third year med student...

I just wanted to tell you that it's awesome! It's a non selective beta blocker and beware! It's contraindicated in case of asthma and bradycardia.

It crosses the blood brain barrier so, in my case it also helps with mental symptoms if anxiety. I used to blush, have tachycardia, sweaty and shaky hands and all the symptoms of SA when talking to people. Since I take 40 mg per day in the morning, all gone.

I also have tachycardia and high blood pressure, so, two things with one pill!

I just wanted to know your experience with it, if you had some short and long term side effects and in general, your personal impressions!

Stay well!

Bipolar II, social anxiety, assorted brain cooties.

What keeps me at bay:
Quetiapine 200 mg
Lamotrigine 200 mg
Venlafaxine 150 mg

Propranolol 80 mg

Non-mental issues: Hypertension, inoperable pilonidal cyst, IBS, seasonal allergy.

PRN: Pregabalin 300 mg, clonazepam 0.5 mg, tramadol 50 mg, dextropropoxyphene/ibuprofen 100/400 mg, antihistamines in spring and autumn (diphenhydramine, cyproheptadine, clopheniramine).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-10-2012, 03:38 PM
SAS Member