Nine years on Nardil - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 175 (permalink) Old 03-05-2006, 05:06 PM Thread Starter

Nine years on Nardil

I take an MAOI (Nardil) that does a marvelous job of alleviating chronic mild depression (a.k.a dysthymia) and social anxiety. Iíve been on it for over 9 years so I have a lot of experience with it.

I began taking it primarily to alleviate social anxiety. However, social anxiety and depression, in me, often seem to work in tandem, creating a vicious cycle which can make life very uncomfortable - and this dynamic duo had been putting me through the grinder for quite awhile.

When I first looked into medication treatments I began by trying a couple of the SSRIs. Unfortunately, they did little more than make me feel excessively wired, doing nothing for my SA whatsoever. After this, I became a bit more desperate and began digging deeper. In my research, I found material that spoke very positive things about the treatment of SA using MAOIs. I determined at that point, that if it was the last thing ever I did, I had to try it.

Unfortunately, the MAOIs are like the Desoxynģ (pharmaceutical methamphetamine occassionally used to treat ADHD) of anti-depressants. A ďlast lineĒ treatment. So lemmee tell ya - getting doctors to prescribe it is like pulling teeth. And this is a damned shame. As one psychiatrist put it, ďthe MAOIs are supremely effective anti-depressantsĒ. And when he says supremely, heís not being rhetorical.