My 2 year experience taking Nardil - Pros and Cons - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-26-2011, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Question

My 2 year experience taking Nardil - Pros and Cons

Hi everybody, I'm new to the SAS forum, but I did regularly read people's comments and discussions here a couple of years back, particularly on this medication forum. I picked up much information and knowledge from people's personal experiences posted here about Nardil, and would now like to now share a part of my experience with Nardil after 2 years of taking it.

Please do feel free to ask any questions or let me know how your experience has been similar or different.

I'm from the UK but despite a nearly zero-MAOI policy in this country, I did manage to get Nardil Prescribed to me but it was under quite rare circumstances:

My Doctor had previously prescribed me SSRIs and Tricyclics but to no effect and it seemed there was very little chance that she would prescribe me something like MAOIs if I asked her to do so; She didn't take my complaints of SA seriously and was very aloof to any suggestions I would make.

However, after I'd read so many "wonder stories" about Nardil on social anxiety forums and sites, I decided it was worth a try to convince her that this medication was likely to work for me, so I prepared a wealth of internet-researched paperwork and references about Nardil to bring with me to help persuade her to prescribe it to me.