How to convince doc for these meds... - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-16-2007, 05:00 PM Thread Starter

How to convince doc for these meds...

Ok, im currently on
40mg celexa
1mg Alprazolam ER once daily(morning)
.5 Alprazolam up to two times daily prn
200mg Provigil

Ok, see every doc I see has a problem giving me a stimulant. They say it will make my anxiety worse. BUT, that isn't the case.

Right now I take the 200mg Provigil, and I guess that's a little help for energy throughout the day. My psy wouldn't prescribe it due to insurance reasons. He said since it's real expensive, and only has off label use for depression anxiety... That insurance would deny it. Called family doc, Rx'd me it over the phone.

I really want something like ritalin or adderall though. See I am a college student and, well, lets just say I have tried adderall 20mg and 30mg.

They work excellent. They give me the energy to to stuff, make me happy, and no anxiety.

I know if I go in and ask for it he will say anxiety and a stimulant is bad news, which it usually is. But, it helps fill that emptyness that SSRI's seem to give me. Celexa works well for my depression, but i still feel meh.

And, last time the doc was also telling me that basically the only way to get the stimulant would be get off of alprazolam. Well, i think that is totally stupid. The alprazolam keeps my anxious thoughts at bay, usually with just the 1mg alprazolam ER pill in the morning. I have the .5mg's for any panic scenerios and stuff like that.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-16-2007, 05:39 PM

re: How to convince doc for these meds...