Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

Depression from long term ritalin and valium use?

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Disillusioned Familiar 
#1 ·
Hi,

I've been struggling very much with depression lately and have been trying to pinpoint the reason. I have a history of clinical depression since childhood and was treated successfully for it, and it has been about 7 years since I've felt seriously affected by depression- or had strong feelings of hopelessness, anger, apathy, and self-harm/suicidal thoughts. All these feelings have been coming back in the past month at full force.

I consider my personal life to be stressful but not depression inducing- I graduated from college 6 months ago and am working 2 jobs and getting by, though not without some financial struggle. I have a good support system through friends and have all my needs met except maybe getting enough sleep.

I have been on ritalin for ADHD for 6 years- 20-60mg a day, and 5mg valium a day for anxiety and treatment of meniere's disease for about 1 year now. I have read that both of these drugs can cause depression, especially in long term use, and wanted to know if anyone has had experience with serious depression as a side effect of one or both drugs with extended use.

My depression is starting to seriously affect my daily life and relationships. I am scared and want to try and ween myself off one or both medications but worried about the adjustment period with my hectic schedule. I definitely do not want to add anymore medications such as an antidepressant. I ordered some SAM-e and st johns wart supplements today and am hopeful they may help in natural treatment.

Any advice would be appreciated.

See less See more
#3 ·
Take a look at a book called "The Depression Cure: The 6-Step Program to Beat Depression without Drugs" by Stephen Ilardi. I know it's a cheesy title but it's actually pretty sound research.

You can see one of his lectures at youtube.