Interviews - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Interviews

I suck at interviews. Yes I’m afraid of people and criticism so it makes sense but it sucks. I’m a first year law student, I got great grades my first semester and now I’m getting a bunch of interviews but I’m bombing. I hate talking about myself, maybe it’s bc I don’t like myself. Everyone keeps telling me to be more confident and sell myself. Like cool but I’m not confident, I can’t just turn it on, and I hate talking about myself. I’m personable, I’m friendly, I know that people like me and like talking to me even tho I’m perpetually afraid of them but that’s bc I ask them questions and care about what they’re saying. It just sucks that I’ve worked so hard to come this far and this last step is stopping me and I don’t know what to do. I need an internship soon and I’m running out of options and honestly I walk away from every interview feeling sick to my stomach. Growing up people would tell me I was loud or annoying when I would speak my mind so overtime I got quieter to the point where now I’m terrified of talking to others, especially a group of people. And now everyone’s telling me to be louder and sure of myself. I’m so sick of this. I get so nervous during the interviews I forget all my talking points, honestly, I feel like giving up, what’s the point. Why can’t they just look at my resume and grades, I do better than the other interviewees but they’re not scared of people so grades really don’t matter I guess. It just feels extremely hopeless and nobody understands. If you have any suggestions let me know.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 04:14 PM
SAS Member