Where are all these “benefits” of being attractive? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 09-04-2019, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Where are all these “benefits” of being attractive?

I don’t understand why people say attractive people have it easier socially. I’m considered very attractive, I’m a professional model and have a very difficult time socially. I’m never approached by people and whenever I try talking to people they are extremely rude to me- I have no choice but to be quiet. I also didn’t have my first boyfriend until 22. I’ve tried desperately to make friends but am always rejected. I keep trying to dress up and look my best because I keep hearing about how attractive people have an easier time socially- but I get none of that. I don’t understand this at all.

How can I talk to people when everyone rejects me?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 09-04-2019, 12:28 PM
SAS Member

Language: English
My Mood: Breezy
There are no benefits. I could attract guys easily but because I didn't have the same personality or energy they did it didnt last long.

Cat calls and harassment arent benefits.

Just have to find our way and keep going.

We are in a reverie/ And everything you thought you knew isn't what it seems/ Only truth will set you free/ And I would never lie to you
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 09-04-2019, 12:52 PM
SAS Member

It's the "grass is always greener" line of thinking. It's normal that people want to be found attractive. So when we see a person we consider attractive it can play into the "If I looked like like" knee jerk reaction. It's easy to imagine how much "easier" it could be when the "if only I could be/have (insert any perceived improvement)" when we feel discontent. It's an illusion. Pain and problems are still real regardless of how somebody else imagines their life would change if they could trade places. I'm sorry you're experiencing that.