Need some advice - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Need some advice

Hi guys, iv just joined and really in need of some advice.

I have had generalised anxiety since I was around 16 or 17 but in the past year or so social anxiety has became the massive problem; I work in retail and with strangers I am fine, in a structured setting talking to customers or say if I am viewing a house and I know before hand what I need to know then I'm great, talking on the phone is exactly the same, I'm fine.

My issue, and I'm finding this 1 to be a bit more unusual, my anxiety is around family and close friends and it's driving me mad. Has got to the stage that I even have it with my own parents, I just panic in my head, I don't know what to say then I panic because I look stupid; it ridiculous, and I know it is but my head apparently dosent.

My partner is the one person I don't get anxiety around. His family are all very out going and they hate it, this is currently what's upsetting me the most. They are all very outgoing , always out or at party's etc, they invite me but it's always followed a few days later with his mum blowing up telling me I was really rude because I wasn't speaking to anyone , people thought I was giving them filthy looks , I would never do that and that really upsets me.

Long story short his parents and there friends all hate me and keep telling him to get rid of me because I am no good for him. His mum says all sorts of stuff about me behind my back, I hate that they think that of me and I have tried to explain my anxiety to them but it dosent work. My partners parents have now given him 10000 to put as a deposit for a house, as long as my name does not appear on anything , we were just starting to save for a house so I have nothing to contribute to the deposit but I will be paying half of everything once we get the house.