#medical residency #social anxiety #depression #suicide - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-31-2018, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

#medical residency #social anxiety #depression #suicide

Hello everyone

I am now 32 years old guy suffering from social anxiety. I graduated medical school at age 26 and till this age, I am suffering to start my residency because of social anxiety
I am 32. I am unemployed. I am single. never been in a relationship. Not a virgin, slept few times with hookers last 2 years as I can't get a relationship.
I went into residency for 2 years and dropped out after 2 years
I didn't imagine that my life will end up this way. I thought I could be a doctor. I thought I will have at least a normal career but social anxiety and avoidance kept pushing me backward and negatively affecting my life and decisions.
I thought about studying computer science now and leaving medicine and started self-learning but depression is keeping me down from learning (I don't have the ambition and life hope I had when I was young).
I tried to get into radiology but it is very competitive to get into.
Needless to say, my colleagues now have families, have successful lives and careers.
I have suicidal thoughts all the time because of I feel fully stuck in this circle of anxiety and depression.

I don't know how can I get off this vicious circle
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-31-2018, 02:26 PM
SAS Member