Is looking for meaningful friendships an unrealistic goal? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-02-2015, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Is looking for meaningful friendships an unrealistic goal?

I graduated college a little more than a year ago. Still struggling to find a full time job. Thinking about going back to school. A lot is going on in my life and it's been tough coming to terms with the fact that I don't have any friends. I thought college would be the best years and change my social life since high school. But ultimately, I didn't make friends. I had people who used me for their own benefit, and once school was over, nobody thought to text me, get in touch or see how I'm doing. These are people who used to contact me every day for homework, notes or assignments.

I don't really know how to make friends now. Everybody is obsessed with getting settled whereas I still feel young enough to want to meet people I can connect and have conversations with, people who will get just as excited as I do about my passions and stuff. I feel like socializing in your twenties is just getting by with small talk, asking how the weather is, etc. It's probably better than not socializing at all, but it doesn't feel fulfilling.

Am I just being ungrateful and unrealistic to look for meaningful friendships at this age? I just resort to maladaptively daydreaming about belonging in a group of friends then ultimately get frustrated about the realization that these are just daydreams and not real.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-02-2015, 08:49 PM
Self isolating from self

The short answer is no. It's not unrealistic. Anxiety creates a hurdle that makes it more difficult than it should be.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-03-2015, 12:16 AM
Permanently Banned

We missed out on our youth dude. Our trajectory is completely ruined. I can't imagine finding happiness at this point.