Going out more makes me feel worse about myself - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-24-2019, 06:24 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Going out more makes me feel worse about myself

I'm studying abroad for a semester and trying to really put myself out there to make friends. I heard that the more you expose yourself and put yourself in these social situations, the less your brain will see these situations as a threat, and then you'll get used to it.

But going to these social functions and trying to make friends has been making me feel worse about myself. I've only made two friends out of everyone I've met, and I feel like they don't even like me that much. They are definitely closer to each other and make me feel a little excluded sometime, but I cling on to them because I would have no one if I didn't have them.

Does anyone feel like the person they're coming off as isn't like their real self at all? I know I'm coming off as pushy and desperate and I hate it. All my conversations sound so forced and fake and just not me. I just want to genuinely be myself but it's so damn hard, and I want friends but I don't want to be so sad and pathetic about it.

If anyone has some advice on how to deal with this, I'd really appreciate it!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-24-2019, 07:38 AM
Quit: Spam filter lmao

Two friends is a pretty big accomplishment TBH. Big friend groups only happen naturally in very specific situations in high school and early college, or if you get lucky. So you can afford to slow down and be somewhat selective.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-24-2019, 09:03 AM
SAS Member