Ever feel like you just have nothing to say? - Page 3 - Social Anxiety Forum

post #41 of 192 (permalink) Old 11-24-2010, 10:00 PM
SAS Member

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by LostGirl View Post
And in turn, I just come off as boring.
Being told you're quiet is maybe the most annoying thing in the world - like I don't know I'm quiet! I think it's just flat out rude to be honest. If I say anything in response I give them a sideways look and say "I know" or just simply nod and smile.

I use to feel exactly like you when I was younger - as if I missed out. Now I am thankful that my social anxiety kept me away from the wild parties and things. As a result, I have a lot of knowledge to share and people that take the time to get to know me are usually amazed by that fact.

In short, I don't think you're boring at all - you just have a different path in life and there's nothing wrong with it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #42 of 192 (permalink) Old 11-24-2010, 10:30 PM
SAS Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by LostGirl View Post
It's frustrating, isn't it?

It seems like people are scared of breaks in conversation, they cant sit there in silence for more than 2 minutes without starting small talk. But I can't do it, I can't think of anything to say. Sometimes I've found myself making things up just to get a few sentences in so that I don't come across as mute. And I hate myself for doing that.

I get angry when some smart-arse tells me im being too quiet. They don't realize how hard I'm digging in my head trying to find something, anything, to say to them. There's just nothing there for me.

wow this is crazy and i thought i was the only one frustrated with this problem....my mind constantly draws a blank when im in a social setting. The constant blank mind causes me to go out of my way to avoid social interaction or to just hide in my room. Ive been struggling with friends and even family now and it really is frustrating