daydreaming - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-02-2009, 04:13 PM Thread Starter

Red face

daydreaming

Hello all,
I'm new here and wanted to get y'alls opinions on daydreaming. I'm a freshman in college right now,and I constantly find myself daydreaming, whether it be at home or in class. I've always been a big daydreamer, but isn't this a bit excessive? I also tend to daydream about things that most likely won't happen, or are not very realistic. ie: going to the same university as someone I like, etc. I know excessive daydreaming can be a form of escapism, but what should i do about this? I will admit, I did not have the best of childhoods, (I was/am very sheltered, and am just now getting out into the social world... still live with parents, so it's hard to get out) but is this something i should worry about? I mean sometimes, it takes such a long time just to do a 6 problem math worksheet just because i'm too busy daydreaming...I also have the hardest times focusing. I may be ADD, but never got tested, I don't like to rely on medication... anyways, what do y'all think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-02-2009, 04:34 PM
SAS Member

i dont see a problem with day dreaming at all. i know i do, and often. but you should also make sure you're getting done what needs to get done.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-02-2009, 04:47 PM
Neue Nihilist

I daydream on a regular basis. When I'm alone I actually act out my daydreams. And I'm probably younger than you!

It's all about escapism and occupying my understimulated mind. I think it's a symptom of the fact that I'm not at all satisfied with my life!

Open up, it's the FBI Police! I'm Special Agent Detective Sargent Doctor Trenchcoat, and this is my partner The Right Honorable Professor Judge Captain Snake!

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-24-2012, 01:05 PM
SAS Member

excessive daydreaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by csi226 View Post
Hello all,