Convince me to see a psychiatrist - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-08-2011, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Convince me to see a psychiatrist

I feel very conflicted. I know I need help, but at the same time a part of me doesn't want to see a psychiatrist. Im not sure if its pride or embarrassment. I found out my college has psychiatrists I can go see. I have horrible social anxiety, no social life because of it, depression problems because of my lack of social life or even academic accomplishments. My depression led me to have my worst semester last semester, which was supposed to be my last of college. Made a D a C and a C- I was right above a 3.0 now im right below with a 2.9. Now im taking summer classes and my depression was getting better since I was working out, but i failed my first test 40 points below average. The final was going to replace it and I studied my *** off but im scared I failed it and subsequently might fail the class. Im starting to feel very dumb as I would be in the bottom 1% of my class. Best case is barely passing with a C. I think I have ADD and my SA is making it worse. I could never pay attention in class.

My life is constantly getting worse and worse, so i know i need help, but the thought of having to get help makes me feel even worse.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-08-2011, 06:57 PM
Gone, Never Coming Back

Go see a psychiatrist.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-08-2011, 07:16 PM
:/

It seems like you know that you should go. You just have to make the first attempt to setup an appointment. We'll drag you there if we have to! :P

You sound like how I was at school. Learning anything was difficult: I was constantly stressed about my grades, even though many times they weren't as bad as they seemed. I wasn't able to pay attention in class, and once I was out of class I was completely exhausted from the adrenaline rush/anxiety. Because of this, I'd often skip classes.