Attachment and Commitment problems? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 03:11 PM Thread Starter
PRISMATIC

Attachment and Commitment problems?

Does anyone besides me have problems with attachments? Talking to people isn’t really my main issue.

My main issue with my SA is that I have a lot of trouble with atrachmebts and commitment. I don’t mind having acquaintances, but I feel like running when people try getting closer to me.

I end up having a dilemma where I am lonely, but I like keeping people at arms length as well. I get really uncomfortable and anxious when I have obligation to people.

I am not very good at interacting with people in general. I love the IDEA of close relationships, but the process of making a close friend is what I don’t enjoy.

I enjoy being around people, but want to be left alone.

I also have a problem where I become extremely obsessed with people I become interested in. Also, in the past when I have had close friends I have always felt very protective and territorial. I don’t like sharing people. I’m not verbally hostile anymore, but i used to be.

The odd thing is that even with people I like a lot I still feel like I need to keep them at arms length. It’s like I simultaneously try to get closer and farther at the same time. So, even though with people I really like I form obsessive attachments I don’t really react on that obsession.

It’s really weird being me.

YOU ARE NOT INVISIBLE
Save
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 08:09 PM
SAS Member

My Mood: Mellow