are self help books helpful? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-26-2020, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

are self help books helpful?

I am currently reading the ''shyness and social anxiety workbook'' by martin anthony and richard swinson..is it worth?
any experience?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-26-2020, 11:29 PM
SAS Member

I haven't read that book however I have read other books such as how to win friends and influence people and how to talk to anyone.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-26-2020, 11:41 PM
bipolar

I'm sure some of them are very good - especially if you work through the exercises etc and do gradual exposure. I'm really bad at that sort of thing though - I'm not very good at concentrating for some reason.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 12:23 AM
SAS Member

Language: English
They can give you good advice and help you understand the situation better. But I have learned with SA understanding about it is only half battle. You have to have the motivation or courage to expose yourself to things that make you uncomfortable in order to improve and get better. So if your afraid of talking to the opposite sex you have actually do it to reduce your anxiety and see it is not that bad. Not easily done and I regret not being able to do it much more myself.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 12:35 AM

Yeah self help books are really helpful. I lended some books to my brother and he insulted me that he doesn't like self help books. I didn't think much about the genre of books before that, but now my brother's opinion of the majority of my books is eye-opening! Probably people who don't like to own self help books are not looking to improve themselves and are not interested in how they behave and how others behave? I don't know! But all I have are self help books, because deep down I am my own best therapist!
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-02-2020, 02:32 AM
VIP