Any musicians with recoding anxiety? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 05-15-2017, 10:11 AM Thread Starter
I think I understand

My Mood: Amused

Any musicians with recording anxiety?

This is an annoying problem... and I don't know if there is any solution really. I'm a producer/composer/musician... what every you want to call an eclectic electronic musician. And I'd love to be able to record in parts in real time... but I just can't. I can come up with interesting riffs/melodies/chords just playing around, but the moment I hit record and the metronome clicks in I just lose it... I guess I could go in and edit the midi notes but that's a hassle. And part of the reason for playing in notes is to get a real feel to it...

I often just program in notes, because I feel more comfortable doing that. I tend to tweak the notes subtly to get a real feel to it... but this is time consuming. And sometimes you come up with different things programing vs playing...

I guess this is related to stage freight... but I actually don't have a problem with that. If I'm well practiced I can overcome my nervousness and get into the moment. But switching that on and off in a recording situation, just doesn't work.

It's analogous to what happens to me in conversations vs a well prepared performance speech. I did a bit of stand-up comedy before and some presentation in school, and these go very well. I can work through the most engaging way to present the words... but in regular conversations it's just word fumbles and bad analogies...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 05-15-2017, 11:34 PM

I know how you feel. I make progressive rock and play all the instruments myself. In some recordings that I will probably never release my anxiety is noticeable, to me at least. It was a lot worse when I used to smoke weed. Sometimes it worked really well, other times my anxiety got the better of me.