Anxiety from feeling like I'm intruding in a group of friends (advice needed) - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 09-04-2019, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Anxiety from feeling like I'm intruding in a group of friends (advice needed)

I am currently a college student and I've found myself sitting at a table with a group of people that I don't really know that well that are pretty talkative. That's fine but I've started feeling anxious and really awkward because I feel as if I'm intruding on their group. Intially I sat in that spot and they moved to the seats around me. Since then I've found it hard to engage with their conversations but I have tried a couple times. They tend to talk about personal things rather than broad topics like their significant others and mutual friends they hang out with so I feel pretty out of the loop.

My social skills are pretty lacking so it's probably my fault I'm having a hard time conversing with them but I feel incredibly awkward when they're showing each other stuff on their laptops and I'm just this quiet person at their table. So I wanted advice on if I should just move tables or if that would be rude after sitting there for five classes already. It's been giving me quite a bit of anxiety and I tend to be a quiet person so I'm thinking it might be best to just move for my own sake. I dont want to draw attention to it if I do move seats especially because it makes me worry I'm breaking a social rule.

If anyone has any advice about this situation that be very helpful! I think I'm way over worrying about it but I can't really help it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 09-05-2019, 02:08 AM
In Liquidation