Anxiety at work - am I asking too much from my manager? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-08-2015, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Anxiety at work - am I asking too much from my manager?

So I've been working at a contact centre for a bank for a few months now and made some good friends over that time. Most of the people who I started with have now left the company except one person, a guy that I've considered my work best mate since Day 1. We went through training together, sat together all the time, were in the same "team" (same manager) and now we're getting trained together to get moved to another department.

However, my anxiety is REALLY bad at work and nobody knows about it except my manager. When I found out everyone was getting moved to another department, I wrote a letter to my manager explaining my anxiety/depression and basically begged him to put me in the same training group as my best friend. My manager assured me it would be no problem and thankfully this week I began training with my mate. He's a great source of comfort and helps introduce me to people plus he's kinda awkward/quiet himself so I feel very at ease around him.