Al These Under 25 People - Page 4 - Social Anxiety Forum

post #61 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-26-2011, 09:56 AM
SAS Member

I don't think it's just a "phase" i'm going through, I've been battling this for over 7 years. I think this will be with me for the rest of my life. There are people that go through things and are still finding themselves and are going through " young phases", but there are people in there 30s and 40s that are still learning about themselves believe it or not.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #62 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-26-2011, 05:45 PM
Temporarily stationary

If "all these under 25 people" take anything away from this thread please know this. It doesn't get any better if you just keep hoping it will change. Thinking you'll magically grow out of it once you meet some goal or get a little bit older or whatever criteria you've sat for yourself will mean nothing if you don't put concrete effort into changing. I don't mean this accusingly either, because I sure as hell didn't do it properly.

The only thing that is better about being younger with SA is you have more time to change and so the less harm it will do to your life overall if you can address it.
post #63 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-26-2011, 08:01 PM
SAS Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mondayeyes View Post
Well that's one way to make me feel unwelcome. I guess my issues won't be legitimate for another four years...
Ditto. I've had symptoms of SA from a very young age, even among my family. Simply put, I think it's no one's business to judge whether someone is entitled to post here. You don't know what people have been through or the depth of the lows they've experienced. You don't know how impossible it may be (for reasons they don't understand) for them to "change while there's still time".