What was your favourite age? - Page 2 - Social Anxiety Forum

post #21 of 52 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
bipolar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maslow View Post
I had a brief window in my early 40s where I felt good about myself and had high expectations and hopes for my future, including my career and social life... I guess it was ages 40-42. It just didn't work out.
I think even in my 40's I sort of sensed that that wasn't going anywhere. After I finished my degree I got a job with Australian Customs because I could speak a fair bit of Indonesian but I couldn't handle it at all. I was still taking quite a high dose of Xanax just to get there, get through the training etc.

I joke that I must have been the worst Custom's Officer they ever had but I'm not really joking. I was hopeless at it. I don't think I'm too good with jobs where you have to do something very serious like that - like finding drugs. It was a shame though because I met some nice people there.

I think I just look back at that time very fondly because of my family life mainly - it was nice to be living with my wife and son - and also because you're not yet considered "old" and you don't look it yet. So part of it is vanity.

Of course in reality things were actually hard back then - it's very different looking back on something to how it was when we actually went through it at the time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #22 of 52 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 04:53 PM Thread Starter
bipolar

Quote:
Originally Posted by conantheworthless View Post
I'm surprised at the answers. Mine is probably between 7 and 12 or so. Not a worry in the world. The few memories I have of this period are all heavenly. At that age the world is still full of magic and adventure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetragammon View Post