What are your interests? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Language: English

What are your interests?

I noticed that in your profile, it asks about what your hobbies are but not your interests. Those are two different things. I also am interested in singing/drama but I'm not a professional singer. I have to take singing lessons. drama is fun
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 12:56 PM
SAS Member

Language: English, a little Japanese, Java, C#, C++
I dunno, I've always considered 'hobbies' and 'interests' to be pretty much the same thing. I think most people don't engage in their hobbies on a professional level. I'm interested in and enjoy cooking, but I'm nowhere near the level of a professional chef. I love playing video games but I'd never play them professionally, or even on a competitive level. I like programming and I'm in school to earn a degree in computer science so I suppose that's the one 'interest' I have that will eventually become professional.

I suppose 'interests' might include things that you don't necessarily do for a hobby; I'm interested in science, especially genetics and microbiology, but I don't do anything about them as a hobby except read the occasional article online. I'm also very interested in secular concerns, like atheism, skepticism and humanism, but don't do anything about them.

"Asking 'If there is no God, what is the purpose of life?' is like asking 'If there is no master, whose slave will I be?'" - Dan Barker
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Thanks for your response!
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 04:31 PM
SAS Member

I'm interested in quite a few things - books, old buildings, old paintings, travelling, different cultures - especially Asian ones, movies, music - lots of things.