Wanting to go back to old times, years? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-16-2020, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Wanting to go back to old times, years?

I've noticed I have this habit where I keep wanting to go back to past times. Lately I have had this obsession with the late 2000s for some reason. 2007 was the year I graduated and it wasn't the happiest time for me at that time, because my grandmother had to move in with my aunt and uncle that year following a stroke and that really bothered me. But she recovered and lived for a long while after so it wasn't so bad. I keep looking back on that year from 2006 onward, since 2006 was a major turning point where my life started getting a lot better than it was, as 2004-05 was a bad time for me. Summer 2006 was the last year I went on a vacation with my parents, then senior year started that fall and then I remember all the way through the spring 2007, and that summer I went on a road trip with my aunt and uncle for the last time. That's like the last time I went anywhere with them.

Something about that time period 2006-2009 is just special to me for some reason. Sometimes I'll hear a song on the radio and BOOM I'm right back there to those places and times. I guess it's sort of like how our parents etc say certain songs take them back, but it's just a lot more recently. lol