Is it possible to have a full time job and a hobby? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-15-2016, 01:31 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Is it possible to have a full time job and a hobby?

I can't understand how people can have full time jobs and also hobbies. I'm not talking about something like video games or watching TV. I mean a hobby like practicing an instrument, painting, making RC cars, etc. These things need time, energy and dedication. My father usually gets back home at 6-7pm and I can't imagine doing anything other than sitting on the couch after being out for so long.

I'm specifically interested in people who have a programming job and a hobby programming project. Are there any such people here? How do you manage to code all day in the workplace and still have enough love and energy for coding to also have a hobby project at home? If I was a coder in a company the last thing I wanted to see in home was a ****ing IDE.
Also other than the energy and the motivation, how do you get the time? I don't have a job and have been doing a hobby programming project for the past couple of weeks and it's taking all my days and it's still far from complete. If I had a full time job I would have to spend months to reach this stage, which is still months from completion.

“Honest to God, Bill, the way things are going, all I can think of is that I'm a character in a book by somebody who wants to write about somebody who suffers all the time.” ― Kilgore Trout

"I need to die" - Anonymous
"I'm just like...blaaaah. Effort? WTF is that? hahahaha" - Anonymous
"Love is a luxury" - Astron92
"One day you will look back at your life and you will only see your computer." - Nilufar
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-15-2016, 05:17 AM
Barbells and kittens