Guitar players or enthusiasts... Get in here! - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 11:20 AM Thread Starter
Broke boy

Guitar players or enthusiasts... Get in here!

So i've been playing the acoustic guitar for about a week. It's a fun hobby and keeps my mind off things when I get in the zone. I started learning the C major scale and finally getting better at fast transitions between chords. I can play 3 full songs and 1 other minus the solo.. "Knocking on heaven's door," and "stand by me" are very nice and easy to play songs, and I love playing "About a girl" by Nirvana, and "working class hero" by John Lennon.

Any tips where to go from here? Should I learn the blues scale or just keep learning new songs? What was your first songs that you learned, and have you progressed a lot since then?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 11:37 AM
SAS Member

Hey, fellow guitar enthusiest here.

I'd say do whatever feels natural and right for you. However, I will reccomend to learn basic chords as that is the basis of most songs. Learn chords and you can pick out seperate notes for a song from those chords.

When I first started learning, I feel as though I should've learned music theory...many say it isn't too neccessary, but I regret not doing so...just a personal thing.

An important lesson to learn is that no matter how long you've been playing, there's always something you can improve and get better at. I've been playing for nine years and I'm still learning certain scales and doing terribly at them.

Do you watch videos of YouTube guitar teachers?

This town is full of monsters! How can you sit there and eat pizza?!
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
Broke boy

Quote:
Originally Posted by American Dragon View Post
Hey, fellow guitar enthusiest here.