Social Anxiety Forum

Social Anxiety Forum (https://www.socialanxietysupport.com/forum/)
-   Entertainment (https://www.socialanxietysupport.com/forum/f23/)
-   -   Any good movies about SAD/anxiety disorder/ OCD? (https://www.socialanxietysupport.com/forum/f23/any-good-movies-about-sad-anxiety-disorder-ocd-93936/)

Insanityonthego 07-06-2010 10:43 AM

Any good movies about SAD/anxiety disorder/ OCD?

I've heard of one or two, but I forgot their names.
Most are independent films, because social anxiety/anxiety disorders are not that much in the open. I've seen films about other mental disorders like schizophrenia, agoraphobia and ocd, but what about Anxiety disorder/sad? Anyone know of any good ones?

notyourstar 07-06-2010 03:21 PM

Well, I plan to write my thesis project (I'm a film student) about a girl with SAD. Very loosely based on my own experiences. So with any luck, there will be at least one more good movie about it a few years from now! But probably not.

catalinahx 07-08-2010 06:02 PM

I'm not 100% if this fits into what you're looking for, but the two movies that came to my head were "Girl Interrupted" and "Speak". I just watched "Speak" a few weeks ago, it has Kristen Stewart in it... from Twilight. She actually does a really good job at playing the role of a selective mute girl. It reminded me a lot of me in high school, though I don't think it revolves around SA in particular much.

Girl Interrupted is one of my all time favorite movies. It's sort of hard to explain what it is, but it does revolve around some disorders. Angelina Jolie is in it too. Check them out on IMBD;

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0378793/ - Speak
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0172493/ - Girl interrupted

danberado 07-09-2010 03:33 AM