Should I tell my teacher about my mental health issues? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 07:51 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Should I tell my teacher about my mental health issues?

Hi, this is my first time on any online platform seeking help. Once again I'm stuck in an analytical gridlock and can't find my way out. I hope someone is able to offer some advice.

Yesterday I gave a presentation in front of my class without medication and it went so terribly wrong. I didn't make any sense, couldn't finish and had to run to the bathroom to throw up.
My question is, should I e-mail the teacher to explain? My thoughts are all over the place as to what I would gain from it. Would he be annoyed for me dumping my drama on him? Would he question why I didn't say anything before the presentation? Would he think I was trying to manipulate him into feeling sorry for me and pass me anyway?
From the way I presented you'd think I didn't prepare at all which is far from the case. I practiced for two days. Still I ended up clinging to my piece of paper even though my nausea was making it too hard to read anything. I hate feeling misunderstood and the teaching thinking that I put no effort into it.

Should I contact him?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 06:20 PM
Cooking Chicken

Sorry to hear that. A lot of people are visibly nervous giving presentations. Some more than others, but I'm sure he's seen nervous students before. I would think most people in an higher education setting would understand.

I'm assuming you're in college? I think your campus would have a disabled student services office and it's there for people with mental health issues. I would personally try to go through them for assistance and to make it known to your professor so you can work out an accommodation for making it up or something. That's my suggestion. Hope things get better.