Problem with academic mentality - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 10-29-2008, 10:22 PM Thread Starter

Problem with academic mentality

Hi.

Sorry for the long post.

Background:

I've had depression/anxiety since I was 13 yrs of age. Before the depression, I was a great student. I was in a private school in California from kindergarten up until the end of the 2nd grade. In the private school, teachers were strict on bad behaviour such as; if you talked in class - you had to sit in the corner by yourself and put your head down on the desk in shame- facing the corner of the walls. I was a talkative kid so I was punished a few times- but I didn't mind too much because I had friends that I could laugh and joke around with. I could imagine teachers being much more strict during the baby-boomer period.

Though my parents were quite strict.

One day I remember my mom spanking and screaming at me because I accidently had some dog poo rubbed on my hand when the class was outside sitting in the grass for some lecture. I didnt even realize there was poo on the back of my hand until I got into the car a minute later.

I also got yelled at by my mom for falling in the mud one day (because the bully pushed me in) - they sent me home because my school-issue jeans were muddy. Cant ruin those jeans because those are damn expensive.

If I was having trouble at math my mom screamed at me and spanked me and made me stand in the corner (while crying) to memorize my multiplication tables - if I screwed up she would yell at me some more....So I learned my math pretty well through this method.

Even disneyland with my parents sucked...
I remember my mom yanking me up and down like a yoyo by my hair when I was complaining at disneyland-I remember my scalp hurting pretty bad after that..

My parents argued/fought each other pretty much every other day - sometimes violently.