Possibly anyone that feels the same? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-17-2019, 12:56 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Possibly anyone that feels the same?

Hi, I am a female from Illinois that has been feeling the need to communicate with others that feel eerily like me. I am 35 years old and I have never been able to keep friendships. I understand, especially being in a social anxiety forum that I actually am not as lonely as I think, but I find it necessary to elaborate a bit on my life as to not be as misunderstood as I feel. First of all, I have been diagnosed with Schizoaffective disorder at age 24, although I do not completely feel that I have it. I do not feel mentally ill but I will admit that I live a rather unique lifestyle at times. Sometimes, I wonder if this is due to me being estranged from others for so long. After I graduated high school, I lived hermit-like for about four years until I had gotten work in a food factory. Within this time working in the factory, (only 10 months) I had developed a great feeling of satisfaction as I was communicating with others as well as making friends, but unfortunately, I had a mental breakdown because I started to have suspicions of others as well the great feeling of inferiority, This is where the diagnosis of schizoaffective comes in. I had and still sometimes have the feelings that others have superhuman capabilities. For example, all people being able to read minds, excluding myself. I was let go from the job, due to not going back after sick leave. I haven't been able to get another job since, except now I am getting help from Department of Human Services for a slow return to work at least part time. I have been on social security since I was 25. I need to get off the social security as I feel awful using it for so long, but I just needed it while I was feeling unwell mentally. Unfortuneately, at the time I was put on social secuity and for a while after, the economy was not well itself as