Yoga? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-21-2005, 03:53 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Yoga?

I've heard from some people - including some posts on this board - that doing yoga was helpful against anxiety. Now I've started thinking about taking yoga classes.

But I'm really stressed out by being in a group of total strangers, and I have a strong performance phobia. Plus I am badly out of shape - I've never exercised after I graduated from high school and that was 12 years ago. And I have the coordination of a 3-year-old.
I don't know anything much about yoga, but I'm afraid that it requires some minimal physical strength and coordination, and I'll just make a fool out of myself in front of people because I can't touch my toes or something. And some bones in my body creak quite audibly because I'm mostly immobile all day.

So, what I'm asking is, do I really need to be in some shape before I join? I don't want to feel out of place.

While I am so afraid to fail so I won't even try
Well how can I say I'm alive
- Dido, Life For Rent
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-2005, 12:19 PM
SAS Member

Yes, yoga is amazing and helps you to relax like you could not believe.

First you should do Pilates. It will help you with precise body movements and help you to be more relaxed when you do yoga.

Also, meditation is helpful too. It will allow you to shut off your brain and focus. Thats something that will come in handy for yoga.

Also, make sure your abdominal muscles are very strong before getting too far into your yoga. You should be able to hold your body up straight by tightening your abs.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-25-2005, 12:40 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Thanks, sctork and Mr Green!
You've been very helpful.

I had planned to look into it as soon as I was able to get some free time off work (I started working in some really late hours last week).