Progress Thread: You Can't Think Your Way Out of Anxiety - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-27-2014, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Progress Thread: You Can't Think Your Way Out of Anxiety

"You Can't Think Your Way Out of Anxiety"

After a recent relapse I am determined to develop the life I want through this thread. Generally, the review from other people will help me to become the person I want.

Right now I am 32. I feel like I am stuck in a miserable job in Quality Control and I want out. I don't have any female relationships besides a long distance one with a girl I see for a few days every other month so I want more options. I have a few friends and would like to improve the quality of people in my life.

Before I begin anything I must remember to always follow the fundamentals. I've been journaling privately for over 6 years and have created this blueprint for getting myself prepared for life. They are ranked on importance, so 1 is the bottom of the pyramid and 4 is the top

1. Diet and Exercise: The foundation. These are the first things i must look at when I'm mentally unstable. Am I eating fruits and vegetables? Am I smoking, drinking too much caffiene? Am I going to the gym and getting the blood flowing? Eat healthy and run for a week and tell me you feel worse.

2. Meditation: I need to know how to relax. One of the most important skills one must have in life. Can you relax and focus at will? Can you control your thoughts? This is a habit. 20 minutes a day of stillness and quiet is more beneficial than you could ever imagine.

3. Positive thinking: I did a 10 day positivity challenge a few times and each time I do it my life improves. I am presented with better opportunities and good things miraculously "just happen". This always yields results as it develops a solution based thinking mentality.