Social Anxiety Forum - View Single Post - Articles on changing thinking patterns & link to reduced social anxiety
View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-17-2019, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
SjS2424
SAS Member

My Mood: Confused
Arrow

Articles on changing thinking patterns & link to reduced social anxiety

Hi,

I am a mental health therapist who has experienced social anxiety since the age of 14. I wanted to post my thoughts in regards to the abundance of articles on the Effectiveness of 'Changing thinking patterns/Core beliefs' & the link to Social Anxiety Symptom Reduction. As I'm sure many of you are aware, this is generally seen/heard as the first & primary subject of treatment towards reducing social anxiety related symptoms....As a therapist who practices CBT, and is a strong believer in the profound benefits of thought awareness, challenging irrational thought(s), and/or changing core beliefs I believe this has been overblown as the way to improve social anxiety. For example, on more occasions than I can count in the past, when I have experienced anticipatory anxiety about an event, I have attempted to bring awareness to what my thoughts were having me believe. Almost every time, I am able to label my thoughts as cognitive distortions (thinking errors), and clearly recognize how irrational and exaggerated they are. I also have frequently been aware of the assumption-based 'guessing' mindset that leads to increased discomfort before the event takes place. Although I have practiced and implemented this coping method 100+ times, it has done very little to change the extreme feelings of discomfort that arise pre, during, and/or post-event although I am fully aware of how ridiculous & irrational the thoughts really are.