Social Anxiety Forum - View Single Post - Yoga

Thread: Yoga
View Single Post
post #52 of (permalink) Old 08-30-2013, 07:23 AM
songsforthedeaf
SAS Member

Hi everyone. I came on here to share my experiences with doing hot yoga.

I practice hot yoga regularly. Without being hyperbolic, it is changing my life. It doesn't just help me cope with anxiety - I think I am on the way to eradicating it almost completely.

A bit of background. My social anxiety comes from being over sensitive to other people/situations, and thinking things over too much. I grew up well adjusted and sociable. I had an okay time at university, but the year after I graduated my SA started getting bad. I became anxious and negative in nearly all social situations. I became very conscious of my social failings and how I had failed to make friends at University. I stopped enjoying talking to everyone. Only my girlfriend kept me sane (i met her before my SA got bad, and she stuck with me, even though I was awful to hang out with).

I was introduced to hot yoga, specifically Bikram, just over a year ago. I went in to the sessions a skinny guy, with average fitness and no yoga experience. Yoga sessions are quite intimidating to join in. As people have said, it is full of skinny athletic women (and the odd man) who are extremely good at it. All I can say is, it doesnt bother me any more, if I am the only man in the class, or if I am the worst, and that is still often the case.

When I first started I only did the odd class, sometimes a few a week, sometimes weeks, months doing none at all. I felt better after doing the odd session, but the affect on my anxiety was only small. Now that I am doing 4 to 5 sessions a week, it is changing me physically and mentally.