X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Therapy

Old 01-10-2009, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default How to "dump" a therapist?

Right now I am currently seeing a therapist that is not helping at all. He seems to downplay everything and I can't seem to be able to connect with him. He is also also a lot older than me and I have a hard time relating to him. I have tried to tell him about my problems, but he just doesn't seem like he thinks it's a big deal or just doesn't care. I have seem him for about 6 months now, and need to move on because it's not working. I almost feel worse than when I started seeing him.

Now comes the hard part. How do I tell him that I want to stop seeing him. I'm not good at that type of thing and worry what his reaction might be. I see him him every other week and think it's time I finally tell him. So what should I say? I know probably a lot of people on this site that may have been in the same situation and I could use some advice. Thanks.
shyguy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:10 PM   #2 (permalink)

Just be truthful and say you don't want to see him because you don't think he is helping you. He isn't going to be angry and insult you (at least I hope not).
its_Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)

You don't. You just don't make another appointment. When I decided to stop seeing my therapist, I told her I'd call to make another appointment and I simply never called. Too bad, because I was physically attracted to her (and her secretary was way hot, too), but I felt like I got as much out of her as I could get. One thing about her that was good was she was very realistic. She called it like it was. She was a very outspoken woman.
Solitario is offline   Reply With Quote