X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Therapy

Old 02-22-2012, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default How do you tell your therapist it isn't working?

Hi everyone, this is my first post here.

Here's my background story, or if you don't want to read it you can skip to the next paragraph.
I've felt anxiety about public speaking since around 7th-8th grade. It was never anything I thought was unusual. I was told everyone gets nervous. I would always get really nervous before a presentation, but usually always felt afterwards that it went well, and no one could tell. Recently, however, in the past year it's gotten much worse. I am studying to be a speech pathologist and last semester for one of my classes we had a ten minute mini practice session with a client. My professor was watching me through the mirror. I was incredibly nervous for weeks leading up to it, and this was the first time I experienced my hands uncontrollably shaking. After that, every presentation I've had to give my hands have started shaking which makes me really self-conscious that people can tell I'm nervous. And because I was unable to handle a ten minute fake session, I'm worried I won't be able to handle being an SLP as a career. It has me doubting everything about my future and I'm graduating this semester! Finally, the most recent presentation I had to give, I felt like I was having a full blown panic attack for the first time. My legs were shaking badly, and once I could hear my voice sounding shaky and weak, it got really bad. This humiliating experience finally led me to call the on campus Anxiety center.