X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Frustration

Old 09-10-2012, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Didn't go to job interview

I'm a freshman in college.

I applied to target for my first job because i wanted work experience for my future resume. I chickened out at the last second and didn't go to the interview. And after reading the sample interview questions i dnt think i wouldve passed. I dont need money but I'm worried I'll graduate college with nothing to put on my resume. I have never worked, volunteered, or interned anywhere and have 0 references or special skills.

Is it possible to start a career right out of college if i have no experience?? I waste most of my time sitting around doing nothing and don't know anyone.

And one more question is about job interviews. i heard they ask questions like "Think of a time where you had to blah blah blah..." how can someone who has barely any life experiences answer these questions?

It really puts me down because looking at people from highschool's facebooks a lot of people have moved out and are already independent. And i feel like everyone has had their first job since they were 15.
Imbored21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)

Imbored,

If you're still in college, start searching for internships as soon as possible. Often there won't be an interview required, but even if there is you should go just for the experience.

I recently had two job interviews - and after having a pretty bad anxiety attack in the first one I went to a doctor and they prescribed a small dose of diazepam for me to take before the next interview. I took it and the second interview went very smoothly, with my nerves under control. If your anxiety is bad enough, that might be something you want to look into.