X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Frustration

Old 01-12-2011, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default 23 years old, going crazy from loneliness

I'm a 23 year old girl with no friends. I've never been on a date, and never so much as held hands with a guy. I live with my parents. I have a part time job (jobs are pretty scarce where I am) and on my days off I sit around by myself with no where to go and no one to talk to.

I work in retail, and while I can look the customers in the eye and help them when approached, I am unable to approach them, or greet them when I walk by. On the few occasions that I have said hi, they usually just look at me like I have two heads and ignore me. So then I'm embarrassed and don't attempt it again. My bosses don't know that when a customer enters an aisle I'm working in, I usually have to turn away. Sometimes my hands are even slightly jittery. If they found out that I don't speak to customers until spoken to, I'd be in serious trouble. I already got fired from my first job as a cashier because I was so shy that I was deemed "rude" by customers.

I have almost 80 friends on Facebook, but none of them are real friends that I can call up or go out and do anything with. Just people I've worked with and such. My Facebook is depressing as it looks like it's basically just me talking to myself. No one cares what I have to say about anything. I can't post pictures of me out with friends, because I have none.

I can't stand to see my reflection in a mirror when I'm shopping and not expecting it. I always try to avoid it. Everywhere I go I feel so awkward, as if I'm on stage. I'm calculating every little move I make, worrying about what my hands are doing, etc.