X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Secondary Disorders

Old 07-06-2012, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default "Afraid" To Spend Money?

Anyone else do this?

Even though I have been working steadily for about 7 years, meaning I have plenty saved up, that I have earned myself and so should be able to buy whatever I like with it. I really worry when I want to spend a large amount of money on something I want.

In the past, it's always been on things like a new TV, or feeling like I should wait for prices on new consoles to drop before I buy them. But currently, there is a concert that I really want to go to. I always use a particular ticket exchange website so I can get really good seats, which means I always pay far more than I should BUT, I have done this for 4 or 5 concerts in the past few years and they are always really great experiences. As long as I am with at least one friend, I can deal with the crowds/travel etc.

But even though I know I will enjoy it and not regret spending the money, I still always have this internal fight before I "pull the trigger" on purchases. Like I am scared that somehow I'll wake up tomorrow and have no money and will need all my savings. Or maybe I feel a kind of guilt for such an extravagant expenditure on myself, when some people can barely afford food, gas etc. Even though I have done it maybe once or at most, 2 times a year. I think part of me feels too that I don't deserve to be happy, so I shouldn't treat myself. And it's always in the back of my mind like, "You shouldn't be blowing savings on concerts, it should be for "serious," "grown up" things like a house."