Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Medication

Like Tree1 Liked Posts

Old 01-19-2009, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)

Arrow Public Speaking Medication

Hi everyone! I have mild social anxiety, but a SEVERE phobia of public speaking (which I suspect ties in somehow with the SA). Anytime that I have to talk in front of a group of people I freak out. The symptoms I show are trembling/shaking, talking fast, dry mouth, and everything else bad that happens. On a couple occasions I nearly ran out of a room because of my fear of public speaking. Basically, my fight or flight response is severe.

So, what would you suggest I get prescribed? From what I hear beta-blockers are the best thing for this. Many musicians take them so they can remain calm while performing. I am a musician as well, and I suspect that once I start playing in front of crowds I will get the same symptoms as I do while public speaking. If you have any experiences with these symptoms or medications, PLEASE give me some advice. I really need to do something about this, I have a 10 minute presentation in a month. Thanks a lot!
aabbccdd44332211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
X33

20-40mg Propranolol an hour before the presentation should help. Good luck!
X33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

Thanks for the advice. 20-40 mg sounds like a lot compared to what other people have said, but I'll talk to my doctor.

Anyone else have experience with this? I'd like to hear from someone who has used a beta-blocker before. I'd like to know how effective it is.
Thanks again!
Old 01-19-2009, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)