X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Medication

Old 03-30-2006, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Me, Parnate, and MAOIs

I've had some people ask about my experiences with this drug, when I go on it. Right *now* what I have to say is concerning my pre-medication research and findings. I haven't taken it yet, but here is some information on Parnate (tranylcypromine) and on MAOIs in general.

I would encourage people to independently check anything I say about MAOIs. (Or any drug, really.)

First, two relevant abstracts:

J Clin Psychopharmacol. 1988 Aug;8(4):279-83.

Tranylcypromine in social phobia.

Versiani M, Mundim FD, Nardi AE, Liebowitz MR.

Department of Psychiatry, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Thirty-two patients meeting DSM-III criteria for social phobia entered a 1-year drug treatment with tranylcypromine in dosages between 40 and 60 mg/day. After exclusion of the early dropouts, improvement was rated as marked and moderate in 62% and 17% of the sample (N = 29), respectively. Alcohol abuse was associated with a poor outcome. Side effects were frequent and in some cases delayed the attainment of efficacious dosages until the third month of treatment. No serious adverse reactions occurred. The findings, relative to efficacy, are in accordance with a previous trial with phenelzine but need confirmation in double blind controlled studies.

J Psychiatr Res. 1988;22 Suppl 1:87-98.

Monoamine oxidase inhibitors in anxiety disorders.

Tyrer P, Shawcross C.

Mapperley Hospital, Nottingham, U.K.