X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Medication

Old 10-03-2009, 04:20 AM   #1 (permalink)

Unhappy Clonazepam (Klonopin)

Hi everyone!

I have been using clonazepam to help me to cope with SA since 1996. It worked great in the beginning then it lost its "power" due to tolerance but always seemed to help a little. I tried to stop many time but I would get severe anxiety and withdrawal symptoms. However, after reading about the "dangers" of long term use of benzos I decided to stop. So in July of 2008 I started my taper (substituting clon. for equivalent diazepam) and finished it in July of 2009. Since then my life is been a nightmare! My social anxiety is back (sometimes I manage to cope), I also have depression since I stopped clonazepam (I'm currently on 45mg of mirtazapine but it's not really helping). I'm participating of a online group for people coming off benzos and they said that all these will pass but I'm not that hopeful as it has been 2 months since I had my last pill and the symptom of SA and depression don't improve.
I will see a doc on Monday and I'm thinking of asking for Nardil and Tiagabine to help with my symptoms.

Anyway....

Please leave your comments, opinions and suggestions.

Thanks,

Fabian
fhoadv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 05:18 AM   #2 (permalink)

Have you tried adding an SSRI with mirtazapine? I would try that before moving on to the MAOIs, it can be very effective, comparable to the MAOI Parnate without as many side-effects:

http://ajp.psychiatryonline.org/cgi/...act/163/9/1531

An SSRI would be better than an SNRI in benzo withdrawal, you don't need the increase in adrenaline.

euphoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 07:28 AM   #3 (permalink)

Sounds like something called PAWS (post-acute withdrawal syndrome.)