X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Coping With Social Anxiety

Old 08-26-2012, 09:48 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default My new college roommate is a loner

A little about me: In high school, I suffered from SA a bunch. I was a super quiet kid with no friends. I decided to change and when I went to college, I became much more talkative and confident socially. I have a large social life now, but I still have SA. It doesn't show on the outside, but I still get very nervous in social situations.

Right now, I am a college sophomore. Most people choose friends for rooming. I had that option, but I wanted random roommate again. The reason was because I didn't think I could stand my friends as roommates and I just wanted to room with someone who I wasn't really friends with......a "come and go" thing I guess.

I was warned by my friends to not go random because there could be some crazy people. I downplayed that......

Now, it's not that my new roommate is crazy. He's a very nice guy from what I've seen so far. But he's a loner and that's what he wants. He's VERY awkward as well. He's an international student and he has traveled all over for his whole life. He's incredibly smart and learns languages as a hobby (he knows 8 so far). And like I said, he doesn't do anything, which he enjoys.

But it's starting to creep me out now. I came back from hanging out at 1AM last night and he was just chilling in the dark playing games. He enjoys the dark a lot. And every time I walk in, he gets startled. He's never had a roommate before either.

I don't know how I'm gonna make it through the whole year. He's a nice guy and all, but it's just weird to me. It's eerie.

Does anyone know how to deal with this?
DS29790bb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)