X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Coping With Social Anxiety

Old 01-14-2009, 04:44 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default I've Never Been Employed at 20

I'm almost 21 now and I've never been employed. I have no experience and they won't hire me at jobs where teenagers are my peers simply because I'm too old now, but there is no where else I could work, except maybe a factory. I'd have to struggle with a daily commute then.

I wonder if this is the pinnacle of my life sometimes. I never imagined life like this at 21.
21 painful years with only thoughts of the future to get me through. Maybe I should just let it go now and have another glass of wine.

And I know you guys are going to say that I have many years left, that I can do things righ t now to help myself, but I don't want to hear it anymore. I just want misery as company. So tell me aobut the things you were doing at 21.
Old 01-14-2009, 05:23 AM   #2 (permalink)

For me the secret was voluntary jobs. They are an amazing way to start working (again). You don't have this overwhelming feeling that you are constantly being judged or that you have to prove yourself. You are their by choice and any organisation would be happy to have you on board no matter what your qualities are.

Also think of what kind of work you'd like to do? What are you hobbies, interests? Animals shelters, for example, were for me the best choice because there were not many people around and I got to spend my days with cute animals.

I than started with part-time jobs in offices. Easy jobs through a temp agency. In time you'll notice that from gaining experience, you become less tense and find a way to get over the awkward & scarry moments.