X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Coping With Social Anxiety

Old 12-11-2007, 07:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Involuntary smiling...the symptom that landed me here

For a long time now, I have had a strong urge to smile (smirk?) during difficult conversations, and of course the more I think about it the stronger the urge is. I'm a therapist, so having this reaction while talking to someone who, say, is regretting her abortion, is completely unacceptable. Which makes it even harder to control. I feel like even if I control my mouth, my eyes are still smiling/smirking, kwim? After a while, I'm not even focusing on my client anymore, I'm just focused on controlling my face so I can appear professional. I must be doing ok, because I haven't lost any clients, etc., but I live in constant fear that I won't be able to control it. I also have the same problem with my husband, and I can't control it. He thought I was cheating on him for a long time because of my smirkiness.

Anyone else experience this or something like it, and any advice?? I'm desperate.
rosewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 07:15 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Involuntary smiling...the symptom that landed me here

If it's any consolation, I used to experience the same phenomenon during the worst of my SAD/depression days, but it gradually subsided. I still have the tendency to laugh at inappropriate times. Both manifestations seemed to be linked to how uncomfortable I was with whom I was with at the time.

Hang in there and realize that you're probably more aware of the problem than is your client.
FillyPhile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 07:40 AM   #3 (permalink)