X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Coping With Social Anxiety

Old 12-07-2009, 07:00 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Help....feel like I'm going to lose my job

I've never really been able to keep a job longer than a few months...but i've never really needed a job before either. I graduated college with an engineering degree in May. Afterwards I got a job at a small company as a software engineer. I have been here about 5-6 months now.

I've had some good times here, some bad times. I have contributed a good deal. I did some business traveling, gave a presentation to a customer, wrote a lot of code.

But I also have not really been very talkative and haven't really made any friendships. For example, this morning I'm sitting at my desk and there is one other guy in my area. 3 people have walked by us and said "hi" to the other guy, but no one has said anything to me.

I feel like I am not really fitting in here and am worried I'm going to lose my job for appearing aloof and awkward.

What can I do?
EndTheFed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 07:09 AM   #2 (permalink)

Tell a doctor that social anxiety is interfering with your ability to earn a living and go on medication. Also take a cognitive behaviour course.
rubyruby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 07:29 AM   #3 (permalink)

Not interested in medication. I might end up trying some CBT though...
Old 12-07-2009, 08:20 AM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EndTheFed View Post
Not interested in medication. I might end up trying some CBT though...

If I were you, I would definitly get some form of meds, maybe ativan or something if you REALLY feel your job is at stake.