X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Coping With Social Anxiety

Old 04-18-2008, 12:18 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Going to a club/bar alone?

I'm pretty much desperate for company... it sucks. I really think I'd do better in just about anything if I had friends to pull me out of this dead state. Something like a club is the only thing I could fit in my schedule... can't and don't want to join groups.

i went by myself once to a really small party and it was just awful...couldn't move. The people there were awkward though, I chose a bad party. I could go to another place... I've been saying that for 2 months and the social situation is just getting worse. Every week I say "ok, screw everything, this week I'm going" and then when the day comes I'm very stressed and give it up. I don't think I have much to lose and I feel like I'm missing out on so much. I want to try more.

So, has anyone ever pulled off going to a party alone? Or just doing better than expected in a club? I'm both stressed and excited to go and meet new people. But when I really think about it... I get in and what? I sit by the bar? What if I'm not approached by no one? I don't have a car, I have to wait till the morning when the bus comes. Last time was hellish but it wasn't a good example. What do you say?
NoWords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Going to a club/bar alone?

No, I went to a club once with friends. Ended up sitting on the couch with one of my friends most of the time chilling out. If I went alone I'm not sure what would happen. If I had 4 shots maybe I could talk to someone.
tednugent2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)