X

Download the SAS Android App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

X

Download the SAS iPhone App

Or switch to mobile version of the forums

Help/FAQLog InJoin SAS
Go Back   Social Anxiety Forum > Recovery > Coping With Social Anxiety

Old 02-24-2008, 04:23 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Anxiety and Teaching

Hi,

I am a college teacher and would like to know if there is anyone else out there who epxeriences anxiety/panic in the classroom. Sometimes I am comfortable speaking in front of a class, and other times very nervous. I have a very difficult time when my supervisor observes one of my lessons. I often worry I will lose my composure if I try to assert my authority in the class.

Should I be considering a career change?

Bernie
BernieK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Anxiety and Teaching

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernieK
Should I be considering a career change?
No. Don't change your career just because of the anxiety. That would be letting the anxiety win. You can overcome the anxiety! Only change your career if you really don't enjoy the job.

How long have you been working? If the job is new to you, you may just need some time to settle in. A lot of people are nervous when they first start a job.

Quote:
Sometimes I am comfortable speaking in front of a class, and other times very nervous.
Look for differences between the times when you're nervous and when you're comfortable. Are certain students making you more nervous? Or are certain lessons making you more nervous?

Quote:
I have a very difficult time when my supervisor observes one of my lessons.