Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

i abused my girlfriend's dog

39K views 99 replies 47 participants last post by  KILOBRAVO 
#1 ·
I'm thanos and i just turned 22.I'm studying economics at university and i'm from a good family that gave me lots of love.I used to loose my temper easily in the past when my friend were bullying me.If i did something bad i felt sorry afterwards and asked for apology but i've never hit someone.I'm not very social in meeting new people but i have 6-7 close friends for nearly 10 years who i see everyday.I'm also in a relationship with a girl for 10 months who i really love.I've also never been abused by my parents but i had bad experience when i was 14-15 when they began shouting to each other for months and they were on the verge of taking a divorce.It was awfull.Other than that i have a normal and healty life. My problem is that i abused my girlfriends dog.I had a dog during summer times for 2 years and i really loved him and i've never hit him.After spending more time with my girlfriends dog i started loving her petting her playing with her etc.But one day my girlfriend went to buy something and left me alone with the dog.
For an unknown reason i started hitting the dog hard.I slapped her and kicked her for like 5-6 minutes.Then i burst into tears and called my girlfriend and explained her what happened.I felt so bad for this...because it was my girlfriend's dog.I can't believe i enjoyed hitting and animal who was defend less and make it fear me.My girlfriend didn't break up with me although that should be the right thing.When i try to explain her the way i hit the dog she just doesn't want to listen.I have also talked about it with my mother.
This has happened 3 months ago.I haven't touched the dog ever since but i have never been left alone to test this.I just try not to think of it.I have gained some of the dogs trust back but she is still afraid of me :(