Ativan (lorazepam) [Benzo] - Page 8 - Social Anxiety Forum

post #141 of 175 (permalink) Old 09-01-2012, 09:39 PM
Finding Solutions

gentle benzo with gradual onset that lasts about 6-8 hours for me. for me the peak is around 2 hours. what i usually do is take 1 mg for 2 days, then 2 days off to prevent addiction. if there are periods where the 1 mg is weak, then i will stop for a week or go to another supplement or med.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #142 of 175 (permalink) Old 09-04-2012, 09:09 PM
SAS Member

I agree

Hi Sasha, It's great you mentioned this -

And on a message I'm also posting to others: I have been on Ativan a little over a year and I've gradually upped the dose to 2 mg.

At 2mg I've started to have serious problems at work!!! I am a financial journalist and Ativan has made me make dumb mistakes with numbers, words, etc. My editors are noticing and I'm afraid of losing my job.

It's true - Ativan dumbs you down! It's a very very addicting drug and I am now certain, dangerous for your brain.

I have realized it's time to get off the drug and hope to gradually begin doing so. If anyone has any advice I welcome it.

I suffer from depression - and consequently anxiety - due to relationship issues, etc. Maybe some yoga jeje?

Anyway, good to have a support group.

And good luck, Sasha!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAS View Post
(Copied over from old review system)

Posted by Sasha
Treatment Experience
Ativan turned me into a complete zombie. All I wanted to do was sleep. It didn't help me with any of the issues it was prescribed for. I had no energy to do anything. It might be good for someone who needs to be frequently calmed down, but if you're already a calm person when you're not nervous, I wouldn't recommend it. Besides, I still had panic attacks while I was on it.
post #143 of 175 (permalink) Old 09-04-2012, 09:10 PM
SAS Member

I have been on Ativan a little over a year and I've gradually upped the dose to 2 mg.