Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

Jobs???

2K views 24 replies 21 participants last post by  firestar 
#1 ·
Can everyone put an input to what the jobs an SA person can do please? It can be any wage wether it's high medium or low :)

#24 ·
Higher pay jobs: Work in Parks and Forestry, Astronomer, Field Geologist, some engineering jobs.
Yes - Engineering can be a good choice, and is also very good paying.

I've been a designer in R&D for over 10 years now. Most of my time is spent in a cubicle quietly working on my own tasks. The worst parts are meetings 1-2x/week (ugh) and the very rare presentation (YIKES!). A real plus is that the profession seems to attract fellow introverts and SA sufferers.

BUT... many a day goes by where I look out my office window at the mountains and wish I was out there doing Forestry or something truly alone.

#6 ·
Yes, I did landscaping for a very short time. It's fine.

Worst jobs for me: Restaurants, Retail and Health Care. Anything with customers or patients was a nightmare for me. And I don't even have full-blown SAD just performance anxiety/GAD.

#11 ·
Yeah..I kinda agree with this. Customers/public, can be very annoying, rude, but at least they come and go. Coworkers you have to deal with on a daily basis or whenever, which freaks me out a little.

#12 ·
Someone with SA can do any job possible... the problem is starting it.

I work in retail which is probably a SA suffers nightmare but it was almost like I had no choice to take the job (long story)

I was bad, could barely cope with it, but at the time I pushed on. 6 years later and im still there and its not easy at all even after that time.. but im used to it now

#13 ·